Jordan Meachum Named Semifinalist for Prestigous Campbell Trophy

Jordan Meachum Named Semifinalist for Prestigous Campbell Trophy

Full release from National Football Foundation

FAIRFIELD, Conn. – Sacred Heart fifth-year RB Jordan Meachum has been named one of 185 semifinalists for the prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy, as announced by the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday afternoon. The award recognizes one individual as the top football scholar-athlete in the nation. To view all 185 nominees, and for more information on the award, click on the link above.

A native of LaMott, Pa., Meachum was a 2018 All-Northeast Conference Second Team selection and was picked to the 2019 All-NEC Preseason Team. Meachum was also recognized in the preseason as one of 40 players on the CFPA FCS Performer of the Year Award Watch List. As a then-senior in 2018, Meachum rushed for 1,396 yards while leading SHU to a share of the NEC regular season title. The 1,396 yards on the ground is the second-highest single-season total in program history while he found the end zone 11 times. He currently sits eighth all-time at SHU with 1,982 career rushing yards.

Meachum has missed the team's last three games due to injury in 2019, appearing in the season opener at nationally-ranked Maine (60 total yards on 11 touches). 

In the classroom, Meachum graduated this past semester with a bachelor's degree in accounting and is currently pursuing an MBA in accounting at SHU. He graduated with Magna Cum Laude honors after accumulating a cumulative 3.67 GPA. Meachum is a six-time Dean's List recipient while also being recognized as a Don Cook Scholar-Athlete, Dr. Gary Rose Scholar-Athlete, NEC Scholar-Athlete and Jack Walsh School of Business award.

The 185 semifinalists were all nominated by their respective school, who are limited to one nominee each. All candidates must be in their final season of athletic eligibility and hold a minimum 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Nominees must have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

From the group of 185 semifinalists, the NFF will announce the 12-14 finalists on October 31. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2019 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18.000 post-graduate scholarship. The William V. Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000, will be announced live at the NFF's Annual Awards Dinner on December 4 in New York.

The Pioneers will next take the field on Saturday, October 5 with the annual Homecoming game coming against CCSU at 2:00 p.m. The game can be seen live on ESPN3.