Field Hockey Leads NEC With 15 NFHCA National Academic Squad Selections

SHU had an NEC-best 15 selections to the NFHCA National Academic Squad
SHU had an NEC-best 15 selections to the NFHCA National Academic Squad

NFHCA Announcement

The Sacred Heart University field hockey team had 15 student-athletes named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association 2019 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Squad. The Pioneers total of honorees is the most amongst the seven members of the Northeast Conference.

The group is led by six seniors that all earned the accolade four times in their careers. Makenna Crawford, Kelsy Hopkins, Bridget Kelly, Marlena Koellner, Kayla Kruk and Colleen McAninley all were recognized for the fourth-time. Other student-athletes recognized are: Emily Alexis, Kayla Bedel-Franklin, Lucinda Cahill, Julia Chang, Mia Katterman, Bridget LaRiccia, Hailey Power, Nicolette Peppe and Alyssa Valentine."

"We strive to recruit student-athletes that epitomize the attributes of being a successful student and athletes, and this award is a testament to that success," said head coach Sydney Van Der Merwe. "I am quite proud of each of these women, for their hard-work and dedication to their studies and their hockey."

The National Academic Squad recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2019-20 academic year.