Six Pioneers Earn NFHCA Scholars Of Distinction Honors

Credit: Steve McLaughlin
Credit: Steve McLaughlin

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced the 2019 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I Scholars of Distinction. The Pioneers had six of the 167 Division I student-athletes recognized for achieving a cumulative GPA pf 3.90 or higher through the first semester of the 2019-20 academic year.

The Pioneers honored are: Kayla Bedel-Franklin, Makenna Crawford, Kelsey Hopkins, Kayla Kruk, Bridget LaRiccia and Nicolette Peppe. Hopkins earns the award for the third time in her playing career with the Pioneers, while Kruk is recognized for the second-time.

"The success of our student-athletes is always a bright spot, but never more so than now, " said head coach Sydney Van Der Mewre. "I am proud to have this group of young women representing our field hockey program and the University."

The Pioneers earned a postseason berth for the second consecutive season in 2019. The team had a league-leading 15 student-athletes earn NFHCA National Academic Squad and earned Academic Team Award.